jump to navigation

Viva Piñata Bursts Into Stores November 9, 2006

Posted by dpcough in Xbox/ Xbox 360 General.
trackback

Today Viva  Piñata bursts into stores in America.

Horstachios, Fizzlybears, Fudgehogs, Mousemallows, Elephanillas and Pretztails are just a handful of the 60 species of wild piñata, coming to homes this holiday season in “Viva Piñata™,” the highly anticipated Xbox 360™ game for kids of all ages.

“With the arrival of ‘Viva Piñata,’ we’re opening up Xbox 360 to new audiences and inviting more people to jump into the fun,” said Shane Kim, corporate vice president of Microsoft Game Studios. “This is a game that will have broad appeal. Families will play it together. Kids will play it by day, and, I’m willing to bet, their parents will play it at night. Even for the seasoned gamer, ‘Viva Piñata’ will be a great escape, and they’ll see it as a guilty pleasure.”

I am looking forward to this title a lot and plan to play it along with Gears of War. Look for my review next week on Viva Piñata. This game is sure to raise the bar for Xbox 360 children titles. There is a full fledged line of products planned including American Greetings jumping on board recently and a line of toys also. I wonder if John Porcaro will play it since he hypes it so much. I’m really excited, you should be to. Viva Piñata and Gears of War will change our gaming needs this holiday season forever.

Comments»

1. jimmcq - November 9, 2006

For answers to common questions, check out the Viva Pinata FAQ at http://pinataisland.info/viva/FAQ

2. Beebop - November 9, 2006

Nice comments – It’s always good to see another Viva Pinata fan. Head over to my website, http://www.vivapinataforum.com, to learn more about the game 🙂

And I agree – with VP and GoW, who needs turkey this Christmas?!

3. dpcough - November 9, 2006

Congrats on being nominated for Fan Site of the Year by GTR! I don’t need turkey!

4. dpcough - November 9, 2006

Do you two have the game?

5. John Porcaro - November 14, 2006

Of course! I’ve actually spent more time on Viva Pinata than Gears of War (don’t tell anyone… 😉 ). I set up a profile for each of my four kids (ages 10, 7, 7, and 4), and walked them through about the first 45 minutes (where you get the whirlm house). I got through about 3 hours myself, need to have more time–it’s kind of addicting!

Too much travel right now, too many great games to play. Can’t wait for some vacation time in December!

How are you liking the game so far?

6. dpcough - November 14, 2006

John! Many people most likely will. I’d know if I liked the game but my copy of Viva Pinata fell through. My little brother was going to get a copy for his birthday but got a DS Lite instead! Rotten Nintendo! I worked to hard to get a Nintendo Wii earning $120 from survey sites so I won’t be playing Viva Pinata for a bit since I just reached the price for the Nintendo Wii yesterday and can now claim I will buy one because I have enough. I’ll tell you how much fun of have John if I get it. I want it so much. Hopefully I find a way to get it soon so I can post my thoughts!

Funny though how a Microsoft employee even plays Viva Pinata more. Its kinda hard to see all the good reviews and not have it! Leading up to the holidays can be annoying sometimes!

7. John Porcaro - November 15, 2006

send me an email at john.porcaro (a) microsoft (d) com.


Leave a Reply

